top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrett Backman

The CrashDoge Scam

Hello everyone, I'll try to keep this as brief as possible.


I recently went on CrashDoge.com to try my luck. I am a gambling YouTuber with a channel called StackGambler. I deposited 5,000 Dogecoins with the intent of making 500,000 Dogecoins.


https://gyazo.com/7f33a4ea076b54b766fc5703562c7dd1 (An image of the YouTube video I posted gambling on CrashDoge.)


I successfully was able to make 1,000,000 Dogecoins. I attempted to withdraw, but there was only 250,000 in the hot wallet, which I took out to my wallet. I was told by the owner, HERPES, to wait for the second owner to come on and fill up the hot wallet so I could withdraw.


https://gyazo.com/8d7333cc2322b22c08fc3524ef226297 (A screenshot of HERPES saying he will fix the withdrawals, and congratulating me on my win.)


Other whales came on at the same time. One of them won 2,000,000 more Dogecoins and lost it all. Another one won 1,000,000 or so. I continued playing, and I won about 6,000,000 Dogecoins at the end of my session. At the end of it, the bankroll of CrashDoge was down about 9,000,000 Dogecoins.


Before I played further, I wanted to make sure that the bankroll was real and not just monopoly money, so I waited for my withdrawal to come through. Of course, no money came for several hours. The entire time, HERPES made the excuse that his other partner was not replying to refill the hot wallet.


For the next several hours, HERPES assured me that my withdrawal would come through promptly. I later found out that it was in this time that HERPES was looking for an excuse to not pay me.


https://gyazo.com/553cbd12d2068d72a541a5b82b07902b (A screenshot of HERPES announcing that he will freeze my balance because he believes that I am underage)


His reason for doing so was this:

https://gyazo.com/0ae2fffc287665013080b78a89e25ded (A screenshot of me privately telling HERPES that I am between 17 and 22 years old.)


For the record, as of March 2019, I am 21 years old and am legally allowed to gamble with cryptocurrency tokens in my jurisdiction (Singapore) as they are not classified as legal tender by the Monetary Authority of Singapore.


I had sold some Dogecoins to other users on the site for BTC/ETH, and I had also tipped other users some money. All of those users have had their balances frozen, because they received funds from a potentially underage person.


Now, let's look at the facts...


Fact #1: CrashDoge does NOT have a terms and conditions page.https://web.archive.org/web/20190308053751/https://crashdoge.com/faq As of right now, and when I joined the site, there was nothing on the site mentioning any terms and conditions whatsoever. HERPES insists that I broke the ToS the moment I said I was "between the ages of 17 and 22", however, NOTHING on the site says that you need to be a) over 18 to play, or b) that you need to provide KYC documents. Thus, his entire premise falls apart. More importantly, CrashDoge is a bustabit v1 clone, and should follow the general principles. Anonymous and instant deposits and withdrawals are key to any gambling site. NO gambling site of this nature requires any KYC information whatsoever. If CrashDoge chooses to go against the norm and request KYC information, that is alright, but it should be a) disclosed to players BEFORE they deposit, and b) included in the terms and conditions, none of which happened.


Fact #2: CrashDoge is insolvent and does not have enough money to pay players. The alleged 20,000,000 Dogecoins bankroll is a lie. HERPES informed me that the second owner liquidated most of the Dogecoins due to lack of interest in the site. He also told me that from these projects, he is down a couple hundred thousand dollars. Additionally, he has wiped several users' balances completely clean, and is has currently shut down all withdrawals. This leads us to conclude, without a shred of a doubt, that not only is CrashDoge insolvent, it will NOT honour any of users' deposits and withdrawals.


Fact #3: HERPES is a scammer. Even though requesting KYC information and age details without consent of T&C inclusion is wrong and fishy, I can understand it. I am not comfortable disclosing my details online, for obvious reasons, but I am perfectly willing to prove that I am not underage. Thus, I offered to fly over to HERPES' city (at my own expensive) and give him my passport in order to verify my age and identity. However, he refused to do so, because he claims that "we typically don't meet with players in person, man", which in my view is a very sorry excuse. As of now, HERPES has scammed four people, and he personally owes me ~4,000,000 Dogecoins.


I will be taking up this case with a higher authority. Naturally, I will ensure that all of HERPES' bustabit licenses are revoked, because he has blatantly scammed me out of a large amount of money. I will do my best to make sure his Costa Rica/Curaco business license(s) is/are revoked, but I'm not sure if I can guarantee that. I also have his identity details, which I would ideally disclose here, but I'm not sure if it's against the forum rules or not.


Take care guys, don't get scammed. I will be monitoring the crypto gambling space carefully to ensure that HERPES will not crop up again, and I'll be sure to make sure I get my money back, one way or the other. You can post below or PM me if you have any questions. Stay safe!


Update:

My friend STRAT made a great video on the topic. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u8t-6YgHdgk&feature=youtu.be

Update 2:

HERPES is also known as FeelTheBurn and (name removed).

Link to the original bitcointalk thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5118237.0


312 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page